UC Santa Barbara General CatalogUniversity of California, Santa Barbara

College of Letters and Science

College of Letters and Science, Cheadle Hall
Faculty and Administrative Affairs, Cheadle Hall 2217; Telephone: (805) 893-2145; www.college.ucsb.edu
Undergraduate Education, Cheadle Hall 1117; Telephone: (805) 893-2038; http://www.duels.ucsb.edu/
Executive Dean: Melvin Oliver
Dean, Division of Humanities and Fine Arts: David Marshall
Dean, Division of Mathematical, Life, and Physical Sciences: Pierre Wiltzius
Dean, Division of Social Sciences: Melvin Oliver
Dean, Division of Undergraduate Education: Mary Nisbet

The College of Letters and Science is an innovative and diverse academic unit that offers some 80 majors and 38 minors to more than 17,000 undergraduates. Building on the great strength of its traditional disciplines, the college’s departments and programs provide exciting opportunities for faculty and students at the cutting edge of interdisciplinary inquiry.

As the largest center of teaching, learning, and research on the UCSB campus, the college offers an environment of stimulating intellectual exchanges among senior faculty, graduate students, and undergraduates. The curriculum encourages exploration and intellectual breadth through the completion of the General Education Program, and provides depth through the acquisition of the analytical skills and methods of a specific academic discipline. An honors program provides enrichment opportunities for highly motivated undergraduates.

The college’s Division of Undergraduate Education, headed by the Dean of Undergraduate Education, offers academic advising and direction and is the home of the college’s honors program. Faculty members from diverse disciplines serve as associate deans and are available for consultation on a variety of academic matters. Peer and college advisors assist students in individual consultations and in small group meetings and workshops.

Academic departments and programs form the core of the College of Letters and Science and are grouped into three divisions: Division of Humanities and Fine Arts; Division of Mathematical, Life, and Physical Sciences; and Division of Social Sciences. These divisions foster intimate communities of scholars within the larger campus setting.